The Warren Alpert Foundation Prize, in association with Harvard Medical School, recognizes and honors one or more scientists, physicians and researchers whose scientific achievements have led to the prevention, cure or treatment of human diseases or disorders, and/or whose research constitutes a seminal scientific finding that holds great promise of ultimately changing our understanding of or ability to treat disease.


Nominations are accepted from academic institutions, centers of research, government, or other biomedical institutions from around the world. Self-nominations are not accepted.

The prize is open to both U.S. and non-U.S. citizens.

Important Dates

Nomination submissions for the 2016 Warren Alpert Foundation Prize are currently being accepted. Deadline for submissions is October 31, 2016.

Prize Value

The value of the prize has been increased to U.S. $500,000 (to be split equally if more than one recipient is selected), a citation and plaque.

A special scientific symposium in honor of  the recipiet(s) is held each year on the first Thursday in October at Harvard Medical School.

History of the Prize

The prize was established in 1987 by the late philanthropist and businessman, Warren Alpert and the Warren Alpert Foundation. The Warren Alpert Prize is given internationally and since its inception, seven Nobel Prize winners have received the award. The prize is administered in concert with Harvard Medical School in Boston, Massachusetts and the Warren Alpert Foundation, located in Providence, Rhode Island. An annual scientific symposium is held at Harvard Medical School each fall in honor of the recipient(s).

Contact Information

For more information:
Edward Canton
Harvard Medical School
25 Shattuck Street, Room 101
Boston, Massachusetts 02115